Lucy Oldacre-Bartley

Favourite Thing: Cool experiments that give answers no one has found before!



Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls 2004-2011, University of Leeds 2011-2015


13 GCSEs, 4 A-levels, 1 AS level, 1 BSc degree

Work History:

AstraZeneca as an industrial placement

Current Job:

PhD student


University of Birmingham

About Me

A happy scientist – always eager to find out more!

My name is Lucy, I am 23 years old and I live with my fiance in Sutton Coldfield. We are expecting our first baby and have just bought a house, which we are currently renovating. I enjoy going to the gym and keeping fit and healthy – as well as partying when I get chance!


My Work

I give vitamins to our muscles to try and make us stronger for longer!

I am a PhD student working in the field of muscle metabolism. This basically means that I look inside muscle cells to see how they work. My main project is using a vitamin called NR and seeing if this makes our muscle cells healthier. This is particularly important as we get older as vitamins such as these could make us feel stronger for longer!

My Typical Day

Experiments, data analysis and discussions.

My typical day starts around 8.30am, I come in to work and check on my spreadsheet what I have planned to do that day. This may be an experiment or some data analysis, it is important in science to stay organised to make sure everything you do is consistent as little changes may completely change your results.

There are always coffee breaks which are a nice chance to relax and think about something other than science for a while! In the afternoon I may do some reading on new literature that has come out in the field before eventually leaving at around 5pm.

Unfortunately as a PhD student sometimes I’m required to stay later, if I have a deadline or experiment that needs attention and I do have to come in on weekends sometimes to check on my cells.

What I'd do with the money

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Fun, curious and organised!

Who is your favourite singer or band?

What's your favourite food?


What is the most fun thing you've done?

Sky dived in Las Vegas

What did you want to be after you left school?

A doctor (I didn’t know much about research then!)

Were you ever in trouble at school?

Sometimes – I was often a bit cheeky!

What was your favourite subject at school?

Science and maths

What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

What or who inspired you to become a scientist?

If you weren't a scientist, what would you be?

A lawyer

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

To complete my PhD. To have a good work-life balance. To be published!

Tell us a joke.

A man walks in to a bar…. Ouch!

Other stuff

Work photos:

My work bench is where I do most of my lab work as you can see here…


A typical day involves experiments, I have taken a couple of photos to show you what it is like in the lab!

myimage2 myimage3.